David Gushee observes why Christians might be suspicious of the death penalty

by Mr. Sheehy

I urge my fellow Christians to contemplate the unjust use of the death penalty to kill the great majority of the leading figures we meet in the New Testament, including John the Baptist, Paul, Peter, Stephen and, yes, Jesus himself. Closely studying these abuses of state power recorded in the New Testament might incline my fellow Christians to be much more suspicious of state claims that it is time, once again, for the state to kill one of its own.

David Gushee in a letter to fellow Christians concerning the execution of Kelly Gissendaner in Georgia. As it concerns our society, I really hate the death penalty, though, I might add, that Gushee’s letter doesn’t really address many of the reasons I dislike it.

