Whenever I ask them to read

by Mr. Sheehy

I have taken a lot of professional development classes, and the general idea expressed again and again that it’s not them, it’s me, has begun to drive me crazy. It is often me, I know this; not all the time, however. I can jump through hoops, create interest, generate relevancy, but at some point, I need to ask them to read a piece of text. The never fail response from a frightening portion of my students?

This position or its upright and open-eyed equivalent is a daily routine. Many I see like to blame it on the texts, but why not ask all the questions: Do any parents use curfews anymore? Do they check to see that kids go to bed? Is it too much to ask students to read something that they don’t find as stimulating as a Monster drink?

