The only way I like social networking

by Mr. Sheehy

I’ve tried to express this before, but Margaret Wheatley says it with more authority:

Our relationships connect us, and once we know the person or team, then we eagerly use the technology to stay connected. We share knowledge because we are in relationship, not because we have broader band width available.

Like the playground rhyme of “first comes love, then comes marriage,” I say, “first comes relationship, then comes technological connection.” Not that some people don’t do it the other way around – especially the end of the playground rhyme – but that’s not how I’ve experienced it.

It’s not surprising then that the only times I get excited about things like Facebook are when they connect me with the people I know.

Thanks for reading.

