Writing a naturalist’s story with American literature students

by Mr. Sheehy

To respond to Jack London’s “To Build a Fire” and the idea of naturalism as a world view or concept in American literature, my students are writing “naturalist stories.” They’re creating somewhat dark tales that entertain a not-so-encouraging world view – not because I want them to adopt a naturalist’s world view (I don’t) but because by adopting one, they begin to understand more intimately what that view is.

As we brainstormed ideas, I recounted a few events – real and fictitious – that could fit the framework of a naturalist’s point of view. Then I told this story, which I’ll share here without giving away any further details.

“A Naturalist’s Story”

_____________________________________________________

This post and the story contained here is copyright at A Teacher’s Writes.

