A gun scare becomes a writing prompt

by Mr. Sheehy

When thinking is required, turn to the written word. That’s my conviction and that’s what I did with my students today, a day removed from a gun scare that had our entire school locked up tight with SWAT on patrol for more than three hours. I’ve set up a separate blog for students to tell their stories, using edublogs as my host. It went up quick, and the stories are rolling in. I’ve got them excited about the multi-media aspect, but it takes a while to edit an interview into a podcast, especially if the interviewer gets too talkative. A long interview is overwhelming for my podcasting rookies to pare to two or three minutes, so hopefully by Friday afternoon we’ll have audio intertwined with it all.

Browse on over to the blog and leave a comment – the kids will love it.

