Gratitude’s Rebuttal

by Mr. Sheehy

I’m feeling much more positive today than yesterday – when I wrote my hypothetical “out of office” message. I actually considered tearing the post down when I got home, because it made me sound ungrateful and whiney, but I decided to keep it up because I need to be reminded that I can sound ungrateful and whiney. I don’t want to sound like that, and I don’t want to fall into thinking that the people “on-high” are somehow trying to make my job more difficult on purpose. In fact, I don’t think that, and I appreciate the many factors that go into each decision that is made. They have reasons for doing what they do, and while I may disagree with any of those things, and though from my vantage point they may resemble a Dilbert character, too often I am unwilling to see myself as another unfortunate character in a Dilbert cartoon.

Here’s what I am going to do: I am going to continue to be grateful for my job, where I read poetry in heated rooms while wearing ties and nice shoes and occasionally drink coffee while talking with amazing students; for my family, with two silly and sweet daughters sleeping on the other side of this wall (well, one sleeping, the other taking a pee break and explaining to the world’s greatest mommy how a hooded shirt keeps her warm); and for this moment, where I sit in a heated apartment using a perfectly adequate dial-up connection to post my thoughts to a free blog as I procrastinate my grad. school homework, which I am able to attend to entirely on-line.

And why again was I bothered by anything? I’ll resume my blessed life now. And my homework.

