Can I borrow your pickup? Moving day adventures

by Mr. Sheehy

I hate moving and while I like my apartment and am happy to stay there until our family can afford to buy a house (and we can’t afford a house, no matter what the real estate agents say about interest rates), I would probably be willing to stay there for a couple years even if I hated it just to avoid moving.

That’s what I say now, but if someone offered me a house nicer than our apartment (not easy to do, by the way) and could prove that the cost to me would remain steady, I might change my mind and break out the cardboard and packing peanuts.

That’s what’s happened with me in Planet Blog. I’ve moved on from Edublogs, not completely, but for the most part. I took my personal/teaching blog over to WordPress.com mostly because I gained customizing features – page banners, arrays of widgets (including text widgets where I can stick interesting links), and if I ever find the time to learn the CSS and find a couple pennies to fund the upgrade, some CSS editing options. In a sense, I’ve grown up a bit and was ready for the next step in blogging.

The customizing thing is important to me because the blog (and the website I operate for school) is such a creative endeavor. It’s creative in the presentation itself, of course, but more than that, it’s a holding place for some of my most cherished creative projects – my writing. I blog because I love to write, and though I read a number of bloggers who discuss learning and technology, I read them like I used to read trade magazines when I worked in radio (I rely on folks like CogDogBlog and CoolCatTeacher as tipsters to new technology). And like with radio, that trade material is what I read, not what I discuss. When I discuss and post to the blog, I write the material I want to write as a writer and thinker, which means what I write tends to be personal and important to me, even if not to anyone else. I consider audience, sort of. Mostly I consider whether I like it and whether it meets my minimal standards of good writing – and good writing for me usually means it is a kind of imitation of E.B. White or Annie Dillard or Andy Crouch.

I’d like to think I have a bit of the Tolkien type in me – I heard on The Writer’s Almanac that Tolkien wrote The Hobbit for kicks:

He showed it to a few friends, but he had no intention of publishing it until a former student of his got a job at a publishing house and began pestering him to give her the manuscript. He finally relented, and it came out . . . in 1937.

Could I write an entire novel without any prospect or intention of publishing it? I’d like to think so, but I doubt I’d have the tenacity or discipline. At least, I suppose, I can be a mini-Tolkien and publish a few blog articles with only my family as readers.

But those won’t be at Edublogs any more. I plan to use the Edublogs space as a “motherblog” (a term I picked up from Barbara Ganley) for my classes and I will continue to recommend Edublogs as a starting spot for teachers new to blogging. I have had great support from James Farmer and fellow users at the Edublogs forum (like Cerebral Odd Jobs) and think they’re the perfect folks to help teachers get started with blogging. I hope I can contribute in a smaller version to the blogging world as they have.

And on a final Edublogs note – for some reason I like to use a long e when I say “Edublogs,” but one of my co-workers always uses a short e. It weirds me out in the same way it threw me off when when a teacher would pronounce a character’s name differently than I had been saying it in my head. And like with the reading, my frustration over it is not so much that the other person has it wrong, but that I know I probably have it wrong, and I like it my way better. So no offense, James, if you intend a short e, because I plan to continue with my long e pronunciation.

Feb 27 2007 140

Hats off to Edublogs!

